Here Are The 2024 National Book Critics Circle Award Winners

This content contains affiliate links. When you buy through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.


Always books. Never boring.

The National Book Critics Circle honors excellence in literature and focuses its work on elevating the conversation about books, reading, and criticism nationwide. The group formed in 1974 at New York’s legendary Algonquin Hotel. There are currently 600 members who are editors or literary critics. Every year, the group honors the best of the prior year’s books published in English with the National Book Critics Circle Award in six categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. The 2024 awards were given this year on March 21.

This year’s winners in each category are:
  • Fiction:  by Lorrie Moore 
  • Nonfiction:  by Roxanna Asgarian 
  • Biography:   by Jonny Steinberg
  • Autobiography:  by Safiya Sinclair 
  • Poetry: by Kim Hyesoon, translated by Don Mee Choi
  • Criticism:  by Tina Post 
Additional awards were handed out by the group as well. They included:

  • The John Leonard Prize for best debut:  by Tahir Hamut Izgil, translated by Joshua L. Freeman
  • The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award: Judy Blume
  • The Toni Morrison Achievement Award: The American Library Association
  • The Gregg Barrios Book in Translation Prize, which honors both the book’s author and translator: by Tezer Özlü and translated by Maureen Freely.
You can learn more about the National Book Critics Circle and discover the .

Find more news and stories of interest from the book world in Breaking in Books.

8xbet555 68 Game bài 68 game bài sunwin 8xbet tải app